NCAA 'Moving Day' Wrap-up - USA Athletics Scholarships

NCAA ‘Moving Day’ Wrap-up

Wisco take men's title

Wisconsin Invitational

We anticipated action in this week’s XC meets and we were spot on the money. The Wisconsin Adidas Invitational has seemingly usurped the traditional Pre-Nats meeting in Indiana with a depth usually reserved for the national champs.  In Wisconsin, the Badgers delighted home fans with a commanding team performance to take first, with their fifth man – none other than the best named athlete within the NCAA, Maverick Darling – clocking 23:48. Individually, Lawi Lalang (younger brother of Boaz Lalang and now under the tutelage of Lagat’s coach James Li) clocked 23:10 over the 8k course to win convincingly from a following pack consisting of NC State’s Ryan Hill, Northern Arizona’s Diego Estrada and Stanford’s Chris Derrick and Jake Riley. Miles Batty of BYU, who narrowly pipped Chris O’Hare to the Indoor Mile title last year showed his considerable range by placing 7th in 23:35.

Brit-Irish interest came in the form of New Mexico’s (Flotrack [sic]) Ross Millington and David McCarthy in 20th and 21st, both just outside the 24:00 barrier. Tom Wade went off quick through the first mile/2k and faded to 24:46, ahead of twin Joe in 25:07.

On the girls’ side, New Mexico came home in 11th place, with Ruth Senior just ahead of Kirsty Milner and a returning All American Natalie Gray. India Lee was the last scorer for an Iowa State team who finished 2 places ahead of New Mexico in 9th. The race was won by defending NCAA champ Sheila Reid, stalked by child-phenom-turned-NCAA-star Jordan Hasay. Washington took the team title, with unranked Vanderbilt rocking the established teams’ boat by claiming an incredible second.

Mens’ Results | Race Video

Womens’ Results | Race Video

Chile Pepper Festival

Following on from #2 Wisconsin’s display of domination the previous day, two time defending NCAA champions Oklahoma State responded with a resounding victory of their own at Arkansas’s Chile Pepper Festival. With five athletes in the top 10, including Brit Tom Farrell in 3rd, OSU’s team total of 25 points was easily good enough to triumph over the hosts Arkansas with 78 points. The University of Oklahoma (not to be confused with Oklahoma State), rested their top runners and had to make do with 3rd place. Cam Levins of Southern Utah took individual honours, completing the 10k course in 29.13, finishing 8 seconds ahead of the OSU pack.

With most of the top ranked teams competing elsewhere this weekend, Texas narrowly defeated Arkansas by 4 points, triumphing 85 points to 89. Norwegian World Championship Steeplechase representative Silje Fjortoft continued here unbeaten start to the season by comfortably winning the individual title. On current form she will certainly be a name to look out for at the National Championship in 5 weeks time. There were no known British females competing at this meet.

Men’s Results

Women’s Results

Race Highlights

Pre Nats

The change of format by reducing the meet to one race, helped to ensure that the fields were reasonably competitive. The race largely went according to the form book with 5 ranked teams filling the top spots. #8 Colorado triumphed over #12 Portland and #5 Iona. Brit loaded Tulsa had their best result of the season by finishing 6th. The fact that they beat #7 Indiana could be crucial when it comes to calculating at large qualifying points later in the season. (This will be explained in the coming weeks). Whilst finishing times were slower than in previous years, the quality up front remained high. Leonard Korir of Iona, who boasts a 10k PB of 27.29 eased away from Colorado’s Andy Wacker to take the win. David Forrester of Florida State was the first British Athlete finishing 5th in 24.09. Brit / Irish Performances included:

David Forrester               Florida State                       5th           24.09

Matthew Graham            DePaul                                  23rd          24.43

Mitch Goose                      Iona                                       25th          24.45

Brendan O’Neil                 Florida State                       27th         24.46

Geraint Davies                  Tulsa                                      35th         24.54

Tom Marshall                    Tulsa                                      41st          25.03

Andy Heyes                       Tulsa                                      43rd         25.05

Jonathan Gault                 Dartmouth                          72nd        25:25

Craig Murphy                    Iona                                       147th      26:08

Six athletes in the top 20 ensured that Florida State dominated the ladies race. They justified their status as one of the top ranked teams in the country and with a team score of just 46, they won comfortably from Georgetown. UTEP’s Risper Kimayo is the latest in a long line of successful Kenyan athletes to attend the school, and she won by 4 seconds from Abbey D’Agostino of Dartmouth. British interest included:

Hollie Rowland                  Iona                                       6th           20.46

Hannah Brooks                 Florida State                       8th           20.48

Natasha Cockram             Tulsa                                      133rd      23.00

Men’s Results

Women’s Results

Interviews and Race Videos

Elsewhere, Butler’s Brit’s were in action at the Bradley Classic in Preoria, Illinois. Ross Clarke won the meet in 24.20. A full summary can be found on the Butler Website

As with all our articles, if we have made any glaring omissions, let us know.

Comments are closed.