Wins for Goose, Clark and Black - trackboundUSA

Wins for Goose, Clark and Black


The second , third and fourth days of Conference action saw arguably the highest quality meets come to pass. The BIG12 on the men’s side featured OSU, Oklahoma and Texas, all top 10 teams in the coaches’ poll. Tom Farrell continued his progression after injury to be OSU’s third man, helping stack enough luminescent orange vests in front of OU and Texas to take the team title. This race also featured Texas Tech’s Kennedy Kithuka, who strolled home in 22:52, a country mile ahead of second place (23:58). With both Sambu and Lalang of Arizona going under the 23:00 mark in the PAC12 meet, Nationals would appear to be a straight shoot between the three Kenyans. You can expect a quick race as neither of these athletes will have team obligations on the day.

Watch more video of 2012 Big 12 Cross Country Championships on

In Blacksburg, Virginia, the FSU trio of O’Neill, Forrester and freshman Seddon brought home the bronze for the Seminole men, while the women took the title for the fifth consecutive year. Freshman Georgia Peel finished 14th in the women’s race.

The Iona men exhibited their usual dominance in their MAAC meet almost notching up the perfect score. While many will consider this lack of competition at conference level a drawback in preparation for Regionals and Nationals, in such a relentless season, it can used very much as a positive and a chance to recover from Wisconsin and other previous invitational races, while other teams are putting themselves into the red in the bigger conferences. This is also the last meet of the season over 8K, and with the extra 2K in force, this will only benefit the fresher teams, as well as those with dedicated 5/10k athletes rather than those consisting of milers. The women’s distance remains at 6k.

Speaking of conference dominance, Butler’s decision to switch from the Horizon League to the Atlantic-10 had been met with some interesting views on popular message boards. However, it was the same outcome albeit less of emphatic rout , with both the men and the women taking home the spoils, with Katie Clark adding an individual win to her team title.

With Goose and Clark both taking their respective title, Eimear Black of Bryant, and Ballymena & Antrim A.C, took the third individual win of the day.

The final conference championship to take place was C-USA, held in Hattiesburg, Mississippi. It went very much to the form book as Tulsa men and SMU women both successfully defended their titles from last year. NCAA mile champion Chris O’Hare led the Golden Hurricane men to a comfortable win over UTEP, though it was freshman sensation Anthony Rotich who took the individual win. Andy Heyes finished third to pick up the award for ‘outstanding senior of the year.’

Elinor Kirk led home three fellow Brits to place UAB fourth in the women’s race. Olivia O’Hare and Natasha Cockram took the team silver with Tulsa.

Elsewhere, within the confines of the UK, several former-NCAA athletes weathered the splitting wind in the Great South Run. Andrew Lemoncello, led home Luke Cragg, Matt Bond and site co-founder John Beattie.

ACC, Blacksburg, VA
Women 6K
14 Georgia Peel FSU 20:52
91 Vicky Fouhy Virginia 24:14
Men 8K
2 Breadan O’Neill FSU 23:42
12 David Forrester FSU 24:12
87 Zak Seddon FSU 26:25
BIG12, Austin, TX Full Results
4 Tom Farrell OSU 24:00
Heps, Princeton, NY
Women 6K
31 Mel Newbury Princeton 21:34
Men 8K
25 Tom Purnell Harvard 24:29
26 Jonathan Gault Dartmouth 24:30
57 Kevin Dooney Yale 25:16
79 Kevin Cooper Brown 25:54
MAAC, Disney World, FL
Women 6K
14 Luci McLoughlin Iona 22:34
Men 8K
1 Mitch Goose Iona 24:08
2 Matt Gillespie Iona 24:21
3 Dan Clorley Iona 24:26
4 Jake Byrne Iona 24:30
62 Craig Murphy Iona 26:47
Men 8K
3 Tom Anderson Butler 25:51
4 Ross Clarke Butler 25:57
6 Harry Ellis Butler 25:58
21 Matt Proctor Butler 26:26
Women 6k
1 Katie Clark Butler 16:55
6 Kirsty Legg Butler 17:58
Missouri Valley
Men 8K
16 Tomas Cotter Wichita State 25:11
Northeast Conference, Smithfield, RI
Women 6K  
1 Eimear Black Bryant 17:34
5 Martha Reynolds Bryant 18:10
West Coast Conference, Portland, OR
Women 6K  
13 Gina Paletta Portland 21:07
C-USA, Hattiesburg, MS
Men 8K
2 Chris O’Hare Tulsa 24:03
3 Andy Heyes Tulsa 24:10
9 Marc Scott Tulsa 24:36
Women 6K
6 Eleanor Kirk UAB 17:16
9 Sarah Hudak UAB 17:26
20 Kate Brown UAB 17:49
23 Olivia O’Hare Tulsa 17:56
29 Louisa Lingley Memphis 18:09
30 Natasha Cockram Tulsa 18:10
Sun Belt, Bowling Green, KY
Men 8K
27 Ronny Wilson S Alabama 26:28
Women 8K
2 Jo Adams North Texas 17:48
22 Louise Hill-Stirling Western Kentucky 19:01

Comments are closed.