28 British and Irish athletes compete at NCAA Championships

29 ready for Eugene


29 British and Irish men and women are set to go for the NCAA DI Track and Field Championships, starting tomorrow in Eugene. As ever, the standard will be extremely high and we are delighted that such a large number of athletes survived the carnage of the regional qualifying meetings.

Whilst there are a lot of athletes who stand an excellent chance of podium finishes, the two trump cards as far as the Brits go are 2015 world finalist Nick Miller (Hammer) and sub 20 200m man Nethaneel Mitchell-Blake (also competing in the 100m). Both athletes head to Eugene as NCAA leaders and favourites in their events.

See below for a full list of the athletes competing. The four day meeting is structured such that the men compete on Wednesday and Friday, whilst the women follow exactly the same timetable but on Thursday and Saturday. Track events up to 1500m consist of two rounds, whilst all other events are held as straight 24 athlete finals.

Event Name School Days competing
100m Nethaneel Mitchell-Blake LSU Weds, Fri
200m Nethaneel Mitchell-Blake LSU Weds, Fri
200m Sam Watts TCU Weds, Fri
400m George Caddick Baylor Weds, Fri
1500m Josh Kerr New Mexico Weds, Fri
1500m Neil Gourley Virginia Tech Weds, Fri
3000m SC Zak Seddon Florida State Weds, Fri
3000m SC William Gray Virginia Weds, Fri
10000m Luke Traynor Tulsa Fri
LJ Allan Hamilton New Mexico Weds
TJ Ben Williams Louisville Fri
PV Jax Thoirs Washington Weds
DT Nicholas Percy Nebraska Fri
DT Adam Damadzic TCU Fri
HT Dempsey McGuigan Ole Miss Weds
HT Joseph Ellis Michigan Uni Weds
HT Nick Miller Oklahoma State Weds
JT Matti Mortimore North Dakota State Weds
800m Siofra Cleirigh Buttner Villanova Thurs, Sat
800m Claire Mooney St Johns Thurs, Sat
1500m Emily Hosker-Thornhill New Mexico Thurs, Sat
1500m Ffion Price Mississippi State Thurs, Sat
1500m Sophie Connor New Mexico Thurs, Sat
5000m Tara Jameson Iona Sat
5000m Calli Thackery New Mexico Sat
5000m Verity Ockenden Lamar Sat
10000m Alice Wright New Mexico Thurs
10000m Charlotte Taylor San Francisco Thurs
10000m Tara Jameson Iona Thurs
100 Hd Cindy Ofili Michigan Uni Thurs, Sat
LJ Jahisha Thomas Iowa Thurs


Comments are closed.