Nick Miller becomes NCAA hammer champion

Nick Miller NCAA Champion

Nick Miller Oklahoma State

Nick Miller ended his Oklahoma State career on a high last night by becoming the NCAA hammer champion for 2016. The British record holder had come close a number of times in the past before finally taking top honours in his last meet as a collegiate. Despite never having won a collegiate title until now, the Cumbrian went into Eugene as strong favourite and although his 73.98 throw was several metres down on his seasons best, he still had over a metre to spare on runner-up Rudy Winkler. Having already made a world final last year, we expect Miller is now ready to make that transition from collegiate into professional.

From one athlete who is a British record holder to one who could very soon become one – Nethaneel Mitchell-Blake eased into Fridays finals of both sprint events with a very impressive 10.09, 20.17 heat winning double. He was the fastest qualifier in the 200m, though incredibly four men ran faster in different heats of the 100m. With regards to the British record, this is held by John Regis and officially stands at 19.94, which is only 1/100th of a second faster than Mitchell-Blake ran at SEC’s. However, to break this on Friday Mitchell-Blake will only have around a 50 minute recovery from his 100m final beforehand.

On the distance side, Josh Kerr and Zak Seddon both produced fast qualifying times to make finals in the 1500m and 3000m SC respectively.  However, spare a thought for Neil Gourley – 3:41.33 an extremely respectable time but just missed out in a blanket finish on a place in the final.

Indoor pole vault champion Jax Thoirs couldn’t quite match this achievement outdoors. He ended his Washington career with a fifth finish with a height of 5.45.

See below for results from day 1. We will have results tomorrow from day two of the 10 British and Irish women who are competing.

100m (h1) 1 Q 10.09 Nethaneel Mitchell-Blake LSU
200m (h1) 1 Q 20.17 Nethaneel Mitchell-Blake LSU
200m (h3) 7 21.09 Sam Watts TCU
400m (h2) 7 46.43 George Caddick Baylor
1500m (h2) 4 Q 3:41.08 Josh Kerr New Mexico
1500m (h2) 8 3:41.33 Neil Gourley Virginia Tech
3000m SC (h2) 4 Q 8:36.77 Zak Seddon Florida State
3000m SC (h2) 9 8:51.91 William Gray Virginia
10000m 13 29:33.54 Luke Traynor Tulsa
LJ 23 7.15 Allan Hamilton New Mexico
PV 5 5.45 Jax Thoirs Washington
HT 1 73.98 Nick Miller Oklahoma State
HT 8 69.23 Dempsey McGuigan Ole Miss
HT 17 65.43 Joseph Ellis Michigan Uni
JT 12 70.30 Matti Mortimore North Dakota State


Comments are closed.